Skip To Content
UCDSB Student Senate Elects Two Student Trustees
UCDSB Student Senate Elects Two Student Trustees
Posted on 02/27/2020
2020-21 Student Trustees

February 27, 2020 (Brockville, ON) – On Tuesday, February 25, the Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) Student Senators met for their third quarterly meeting and elected two new Student Trustees for the 2020-2021 school year.

Student Senators, representing all 21 UCDSB secondary schools, an Indigenous representative and an iLead representative, voted to elect Tain Hughes of Smiths Falls District Collegiate Institute (SFDCI) and Jordan Evans from Tagwi Secondary School as the new Student Trustees. The election was held at Thousand Islands Secondary School in Brockville.

Hughes will act as Chair of the UCDSB Student Senate and Evans will act as Vice-Chair. Both students are currently in grade 11 and Evans has served on the UCDSB Student Senate for two consecutive years.

In addition to serving as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Student Senate, the two Student Trustees will attend regular UCDSB Board Meetings in Brockville, provide brief reports to the Board of Trustees and have the opportunity to attend two Ontario Student Trustee Association’s (OSTA-AECO) conferences.

“I am looking forward to working alongside Tain and Jordan at the Board table,” adds UCDSB Chair John McAllister. “This will be a learning experience for both the students and the Trustees.”

The Student Trustee applications were narrowed down to four candidates, all of which had an opportunity to present a speech, converse with the senators and answer panel questions.

Hughes’ and Evans’ term of office will run from August 1, 2020 to July 31, 2021. They will be replacing current Student Trustee Colten Kelford. An honorarium of $2,500 is provided to each student at the end of their term of office.


For more information, please contact:

Lisa Workman
Trustee Liaison Officer
Upper Canada District School Board
(613) 342-0371 ext. 1279

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.