Skip To Content
2019 Celebration Night
Upper Canada District School Board Recognizes Excellence at 2019 Celebration Night
Posted on 06/04/2019
Pakenham Public School Office Administrator Carolee Todd

See photos from the celebration at: Celebration Night

June 4, 2019 (Kemptville, ON) -
The Upper Canada District School Board recognized excellence in members of its staff and volunteers on Monday, June 3 during the school board’s 2019 Celebration Night. The awards ceremony was held at North Grenville District High School and celebrated recipients of the Upper Canada District School Board Service Excellence AwardVolunteer Recognition Award, and Director’s Award of Merit, and the Ontario Principals’ Council Award of Character.

“We are so pleased to honour all the people who truly go above and beyond each day for our students and we want to thank them for their valuable contributions to our school district,” said Director of Education Stephen Sliwa. “Whether volunteering, providing professional excellence, or showing an extreme sense of caring for our staff and students, these people are helping to advance the learning of our students and exemplifying the UCDSB mission, vision and values.” 

“At the Upper Canada District School Board we truly are a family,” added Chair John McAllister. “We are proud to honour these people for making our family stronger.” 

Recipients recognized at this year’s awards are as follows: 

Volunteer Recognition Awards 

Peter Christie, Thousand Islands Elementary School

Amanda Fitzgerald,
Centennial '67 Public School

Jackie & Gary Bryan, Duncan J. Schoular Public School

Wendy Harrington, Nationview Public School

Veronica Horsey, Smiths Falls District Collegiate Institute

Jessica Delves, Maxville Public School

Jim Fourney, Char-Lan District High School

Drummond Fraser, Pleasant Corners Public School

Christine Durocher, TR Leger - Casselman Campus

Peter Lambert, Viscount Alexander Public School

Judy Quick, Brockville Collegiate Institute

Darlene Trudel, Eamer's Corners Public School

Sharon Bjergso, Maple Grove Public School

William Lowry, Almonte & District High School

Jody Sproule, Glen Tay Public School 

OPC Award of Character (Ted Kennedy Award) 

Kim Melvin-Long, Principal, Linklater Public School 

Service Excellence Award 

Individual Winners 

Michelle Brown, Educational Assistant, Wellington Elementary School

Scott Delaney, Teacher, Maynard Public School

John Tessier, Vice-Principal, Nationview Public School

Carolee Todd, Office Administrator, Pakenham Public School 

Team Winner 

Support Team - Winchester Public School

Pat Imrie, Day Custodian

Bill Melvin, Night Custodian

Marie Shelp, Office Administrator

Anne St. Georges, Office Assistant 

Director's Award of Merit 

Fall Recipients 

Bonnie Antoine, Educational Assistant, Rothwell-Osnabruck School

Hubert Bellmore, Lead Custodian, TR Leger - Cornwall

Thomas Griffin and D'Arcy Pos, Custodial Team, Linklater Public School

Kelly Ivanski, Teacher, Rockland Public School

Ray Westendorp (retired), Principal, Wellington Elementary School 

Winter Recipients 

Megan Chouinard, Teacher, Nationview Public School

Stefanie Garlough, Lead Custodian, Russell Public School

Heather Grant, Student Success Teacher, Char-Lan District High School

Beth Loynachan, Learning Resource Teacher, Viscount Alexander Public School

Carole McKewen, Comptroller of Finance (late), Brockville Board Office

Marsha McNair, Principal, Smiths Falls District Collegiate Institute

Emily Reavie, Teacher, Front of Yonge Elementary School 

Spring Recipients 

Heather Churchill, Guidance Teacher, Cornwall Collegiate & Vocational School

Loni Drover & Chrissy Davis, Receptionist Team, Brockville Board Office

Rosemarie Hughes-Dendy, Learning Partner/Grad Coach, Brockville Board Office

Tania Mason, Program Resource Teacher/Technology Coach, Western Office

Kim Melvin-Long, Principal, Linklater Public School

Beth Stairs, Learning Resource Teacher, Queen Elizabeth Public School 

For more information, please contact:

Stephen Sliwa
Director of Education
Upper Canada District School Board
(613) 342-0371 ext. 1188 

John McAllister
Upper Canada District School Board
(613) 213-4094


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.