Skip To Content
Accommodation Review

Building for the Future: Pupil Accommodation Review
2016-2017 Review - Historical Page

Link to view live streamed recordings of all public meetings

To easily search this site or the attached documents for specific words, select "Control" + "F" to display a search box where you can enter the word you are looking for.

In the website you will see the word highlighted throughout the page; in the PDF documents, click on 'next' to find all mentions of the word.


The Future of Our Schools

As of September 29, 2016 the Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) will be embarking on a process called the Building for the Future Pupil Accommodation Review (PAR). The purpose of the PAR is to discuss with parents and our school community the Initial Staff Report which responds to a key question: given the resources available to our school districts, do we have the right number of schools in the right places to support our vision for educational programming?

On September 28, 2016 the UCDSB Board of Trustees approved a motion to begin the review.

Please click here to view the Initial Staff Report from the September 28, 2016 board meeting and the board motion.

Why is the UCDSB doing this review?

  • The board currently has more than 9,800 surplus pupil spaces, which are no longer directly funded by the Ministry of Education. 
  • If these excess spaces are not reduced, the board will be required to direct resources currently devoted to school programs and other priorities to operate and support these surplus spaces.
  • In April 2016, the UCDSB completed a Long Term Accommodation Projections Report to understand the Board's enrolments, space utilization and facility condition over a 15 year period.
  • From our May 2016 system-wide Program Review findings we know that bringing students together can reduce the need for split grades in one classroom and improve access to a greater number of staff to serve students by co-locating these resources within fewer sites. 
  • Bringing more students together through the consolidation of space furthers the board's efforts to seek additional funding from the Ministry of Education and supports capital upgrades to schools including the rebuild of school facilities.

The Process

The Initial Staff Report is a requirement of the board's School Closure Policy 413 and the Ministry's Pupil Accommodation Review Guidelines. It is a report of draft recommendations which are being considered by the board, assisted by feedback that will be received through the Pupil Accommodation Review Process.

Community consultation and input is a very important part of our accommodation review process. An Accommodation Review Committee (ARC) will be organized for each area under review. Part of the role of the ARC is to seek and request clarification that is contained within the Initial Staff Report.

As well, the ARC is key to gathering additional feedback and information which will be used to assist staff in developing a final report for the board.

The review will take place through to March 23, 2017, during which the UCDSB will be hosting public consultation meetings, which you are invited to attend.

Should there be a snow day (buses cancelled) on any of the scheduled dates, the meeting will automatically be rescheduled for the following evening - with some exceptions: November 14, 15 or 16 would be rescheduled for November 18, January 24 would be rescheduled to January 26, and January 30 would be rescheduled to February 1. Snow dates will be modified as needed, so that no two meetings are held on the same night.

Any changes in the schedule above will be posted here, as well as on the social media sites for the schools in the area.

How can I provide feedback?

One of the main roles of the ARC will be to collect feedback from parents and the community through two public meetings in each of the four regions.

While the ARCs will have orientation sessions on October 20 & October 24, we also have a virtual option to provide feedback through a survey, available at this link. The survey will remain open from October 13, 2016 up to February 1, 2017.

The feedback collection portion of this process is now complete.

Click on the tab to the left to access a number of resources relevant to our focus for Building for the Future.

The Board of Trustees will consider all input and make a final decision in March 2017 at a special meeting of the board.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.