Skip To Content
Program Review 2016-17

Program Review

#YourUCDSB: A Vision for Education in Your Community

The Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) is asking YOU – students, parents, guardians, staff and community members – to share with us your vision for education in your community.

We Need Your Voice

Our schools inspire learning, wellness, achievement, innovation and opportunities for our students and communities. The 2016 UCDSB Program Review is an opportunity for our students, their families, our staff and communities to share their voice about what they value and appreciate about educational programs in our schools.

Please click the image below to watch a video overview:

Lady and Child Talking

Help us to understand what you value by sharing your voice. Your feedback can be provided in one of two ways:

  • Respond to the online survey by clicking the link below. The online survey is now closed.

    Or attend one of ten Family of Schools (FOS) meetings to be held at the locations below.

  • If you'd like to let us know that you will be attending a FOS meeting, please click the school name to be taken to the FOS meeting Facebook event: 

 

FOS Meeting Location

Address

Date and Time

Cornwall Collegiate and Vocational School

Cornwall Family of Schools

Includes: Central PS, CCVS, Eamer's Corners PS, East Front PS, Gladstone, PS St. Lawrence SS, Viscount Alexander PS and Bridgewood PS (new).

437 Sydney Street, Cornwall

April 18, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Seaway District High School

Dundas Family of Schools

Includes: Chesterville PS, Iroquois PS, Morrisburg PS, Nationview PS, North Dundas DHS, Seaway DHS and Winchester PS.

2 Beach Street, Iroquois

April 19, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Almonte and District High School

Lanark North Family of Schools

Includes: Almonte DHS, Arklan PS, Beckwith PS, Caldwell St. PS, Carleton Place HS, Naismith MPS, Pakenham PS and R. Tait McKenzie PS.

126 Martin Street North, Almonte

April 20, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Perth and District Collegiate Institute

Lanark South Family of Schools

Includes: Drummond CS, Glen Tay PS, Maple Grove ES, North Elmsley ES, Perth DCI, Queen Elizabeth ES and The Stewart School.

13 Victoria Street, Perth

April 25, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Smiths Falls District Collegiate Institute

Rideau Family of Schools

Includes: Chimo ES, Duncan J. Schoular PS, Lombardy PS, Montague PS, Rideau Centennial PS, Rideau DHS, Rideau Vista PS, Smiths Falls DCI, South Crosby PS, Sweet's Corners ES and Wolford PS.

299 Percy Street, Smiths Falls

April 26, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Gananoque Intermediate and Secondary School

River Family of Schools

Includes: Athens DHS, Gananoque ISS, Linklater PS, Meadowview PS, Pineview PS, Thousand Island ES.

175 William Street South, Gananoque

May 2, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

South Grenville District High School

Grenville Family of Schools

Includes: Benson PS, Centennial '67 PS, Kemptville PS, Maynard PS, Merrickville PS, North Grenville DHS, Oxford-on-Rideau PS, South Branch ES, South Edwardsburg PS, South Grenville DHS and Wellington ES.

1000 Edward Street North, Prescott

May 4, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Thousand Islands Secondary School

Brockville Family of Schools

Includes: Brockville CI, Commonwealth PS, Front of Yonge ES, Lyn PS, Prince of Wales PS, Thousand Islands SS, Toniata PS, Vanier PS and Westminster PS.

2510 Parkedale Avenue, Brockville

May 5, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Russell High School

Prescott-Russell Family of Schools

Includes: Cambridge PS, Plantagenet PS, Pleasant Corners PS, Rockland DHS, Rockland PS, Russell HS, Russell PS and Vankleek Hill CI.

982 North Russell Road, Russell

May 10, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Char-Lan District High School

Highland Family of Schools

Includes: Char-Lan DHS, Glengarry DHS, Laggan PS, Longue Sault PS, Maxville PS, North Stormont PS, Rothwell-Osnabruck School, Roxmore PS, S.J. McLeod PS, Tagwi SS and Williamstown PS.

19743 County Road 17, Williamstown

May 16, 2016, 6:30 p.m.

Questions or comments? Please contact us at 1-800-267-7131 ext. 1260 or communications@ucdsb.on.ca.

We thank you for your valuable input.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

What is a Program Review?

The Program Review is an opportunity for our students, their families and our staff to share their voice about what they value and appreciate about educational programs in our schools.

This discussion includes input on different grade structures, language instruction, program structures and optimal learning experiences for students.

Why are you doing a Program Review?

The UCDSB is a system of small rural and urban schools - a system that has felt the impact of declining enrolment for a number of years. 

We need to continue to ask ourselves how we can offer the best educational experience to students in our communities given the fact that we are a system of small schools, and continue to operate with more school space than we can reasonably maintain through funding received by the Ministry of Education.

In addition to the operational realities of maintaining surplus schools space, we need to ask ourselves: What is our long-term vision for the educational programs that our students and communities need, and what does good programming look like?

Please Click Here to see a diagram of where the board currently is in the entire process.

What is the difference between a Program Review and a Pupil Accommodation (School Closure) Review:

School boards in Ontario, including the UCDSB, receive funding from the Ministry of Education to operate schools. As the board proceeds with understanding how to reduce surplus school space while maximizing opportunities for students, we also need to better understand what good educational programming will look like to support our communities.

In March 2015, the Ministry of Education provided the Pupil Accommodation Review Guideline (PARG) to all school boards in Ontario. These are the guidelines that school boards must follow if and when boards decide to initiate a Pupil Accommodation Review. To comply with the PARG, the UCDSB updated its School Closures Policy 413. On January 27, 2016, the Board of Trustees recommended the initiation of a Program Review.

In the event that the Board of Trustees proceeds with a Pupil Accommodation Review, the results of this Program Review will be information that will assist the Trustees with future decision-making. 

Are you closing schools?

School closures require a Pupil Accommodation Review. At this time, there is no decision in place to proceed with a Pupil Accommodation Review that would close schools. The Program Review is an opportunity for the Board of Trustees to receive information and give consideration to a long-term educational vision for our communities. This may or may not lead to a decision to proceed with a Pupil Accommodation Review in keeping with the board policy. At its earliest, a decision to proceed would not occur until September 2016. 

Who can provide input?

Everyone! Students, staff, parents, guardians, and community members are encouraged to provide feedback either by completing the online survey or attending a Family of Schools meeting.

How were the community meetings organized?

Community meetings were organized based upon the UCDSB's Family of School (FOS) structure. There is one meeting per FOS to ensure coverage across the board. If you are unable to attend a FOS meeting, please complete the online survey

What will take place at the community meetings?

The meetings are a face-to-face opportunity for students, parents, guardians, staff and community members to provide responses to the information being asked for through the online survey.

When does the online survey close?

The online survey is now closed. 

When will you be sharing the results of the Program Review?

The results of our findings through the Program Review will be shared at the Board of Trustees meeting on Wednesday, May 25, 2016.

Who can I contact if I have additional questions?

For questions or comments, please call 1-800-267-7131 ext. 1260 or email communications@ucdsb.on.ca

 

 

Downloads


UCDSB Families of Schools Map

Ministry of Education: Guide to Pupil Accomodation Reviews

Contact Information


Communications Manager

Phone: 1-800-267-7131 ext. 1260

Email:communications@ucdsb.on.ca
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.